Erik Bonin' wrote:Section 72. Traveling
Art. 5. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
Should've posted the second part of the rule haha
b. The pivot foot shall not be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
So yes, never mind, it was the right call. I've seen players get away with that before, but I suppose it was mostly in pick up games. While it's not as blatant as this situation, refs could really call a lot more travels as players catch the ball on the run and start dribbling.