Computer guys: another "How's this PC?" thread

Humans in space suits make monkeys nervous

Postby grayfox » Sat Sep 18, 2021 6:46 am

Anyone have any recs for home office monitors?

I'm building a separate desk for specifically my work laptop, but want to get a monitor for it.
I've got 2 27" gaming monitors on my main PC but this obviously doesn't need to be like a 1440 high refresh rate monitor. Just something standard. Trying to keep a low budget since I also need to get a new keyboard
User avatar

grayfox
the foxiest
 
Posts: 13231
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:23 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:37 pm

I just ordered a 3060 from AntOnline that I don't at all need and can't really afford.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Robert » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:40 pm

Nice
User avatar

Robert
 
Posts: 4679
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:41 pm

Postby Robert » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:42 pm

I basically haven't done or bought or anything since I got my 5600X back in December. It's just been sitting in my closet. I think I'm finally gonna build that fucker because my current system just turned 10 this month. 5600X + GTX1070 for that 1920x1200 60 Hz gaming experience. I should get a new monitor at some point.
User avatar

Robert
 
Posts: 4679
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:41 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:51 pm

This will be the second time I've upgraded the video card assuming I decide to keep it. My processor is 5 years old and was midrange, but to upgrade now would mean a new mobo and I don't really feel like getting into that.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby an otter uh otter uh otter uh o » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:54 pm

yeah i feel like the only hardware i don't shamefully cheap out on are mobo upgrades cause fuck if i want to deal with taking the whole damn thing apart
ˁᵔᵜᵔˀ
User avatar

an otter uh otter uh otter uh o
 
Posts: 18482
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: tier 3 (canadian tier 4)

Postby Robert » Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:56 pm

Gonna get that B550 mobo AnandTech recommends because I don't want a fan on my motherboard and also nice X570 motherboards are expensive
User avatar

Robert
 
Posts: 4679
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:41 pm

Postby Lowercase Tea » Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:16 pm

Another option that a lot of people seemingly miss is the MSI Gaming Plus: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/msi-b550-gaming-plus-socket-am4-usb-c-gen-2-amd-atx-gaming-motherboard-pcie-gen-4-black/6424047.p?skuId=6424047&ref=212&loc=1

I've been loving the damn thing and at $150 it's at a pretty nice spot where it doesn't require an I/O shield, but because it's relatively cheap it doesn't have bluetooth/wifi. Apparently it's pretty solid at overclocking as well.
Lowercase Tea
 
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:37 pm

Postby all day breakfast » Tue Sep 21, 2021 5:32 am

ive been tempted to switch to intel because ive been having more and more persistant x570 usb issues that never seem to have been fixed and its annoying as shit, i also really dont want to do a motherboard switch and windows reinstall though :/
User avatar

all day breakfast
 
Posts: 9938
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 10:03 am
Location: vegetable patch

Postby Architecture » Tue Sep 21, 2021 9:44 am

almost went full reddit and drove to the richardskn microcenter for a 3090, glad i didn’t

thinking about at least building a new CPU and socketing in my 1080Ti until cards are less scarce. on a 7700 K right now and that feels real limiting for any productivity work.
try the data then reply
Architecture
ok
 
Posts: 22168
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:39 am
Location: Texas

Postby Shotfrog » Sat Sep 25, 2021 3:49 pm

Ok so I installed the new power supply, hooked everything up, and turned it on, and my ssd started smoking.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Shotfrog » Sat Sep 25, 2021 3:53 pm

My mistake was apparently not using all the new cables with the new power supply. Lesson learned?
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Shotfrog » Sat Sep 25, 2021 4:28 pm

Well I think the motherboard is also toast. A red light comes on but there’s no beep, and I’m not getting a bios screen.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 8:36 am

I could really use some advice. I am trying to figure out what is the minimum I need to replace to get this thing up and running again. Here's the sequence of events:

  • Everything in the computer was functional. I was attempting to swap out the video card and power supply.
  • I used the new power cables for both motherboard connections and for the video card. I plugged in the existing SATA power cable to the new power supply.
  • On powering up, the SSD sizzled and began smoking. (This was my boot drive.)
  • With the SSD disconnected, upon powering up there's no beep, just a red light on the mobo that remains on for about 10 seconds before turning off.
  • Taking out the RAM as well, also no beep (or series of beeps), but the red light comes on and stays on. So it at least seems like the mobo is recognizing the missing RAM.
  • There is no BIOS screen outputted to the monitor. This is true whether I try running it through the video card or the integrated graphics.
  • Just to cover all my bases I tried using the old power supply but exactly the same thing happened -- red light for 10 seconds, no BIOS screen.
What else... I also have an M2 SSD connected to the slot on the motherboard itself, and a 2tb platter that was on the same power cable as the SSD. I had figured at minimum I could use one of those as a new boot drive if the motherboard weren't toast and if they still work. But I'm running out of troubleshooting ideas.

Is there anything else worth trying?

If not, my next steps were going to be to get a new processor and motherboard, and unfortunately I think I would also have to get a new Windows install. Then I'd have to put all that together before I could determine if any of the other components were also fried.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Lowercase Tea » Mon Sep 27, 2021 9:53 am

Do the lights have any labels on your mobo like this? Image

Also, you probably already did this, but you connected the power supply to the CPU as well right?
Lowercase Tea
 
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:37 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 9:56 am

No, there's one general-purpose light as far as I can tell. I also can't find anything in the manual about what the light means.

I did connect to the CPU. I double-checked that wondering if the connection was loose.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Lowercase Tea » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:04 am

Maybe try reseating the RAM and disconnecting the other drives? (as in only using the M2 drive)

Also, for your Windows install, if you ever linked it to a Microsoft account the product key should be there.

Oh and when you boot, are the video card's fans spinning along with the CPU fan?
Lowercase Tea
 
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:37 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:12 am

I'll have to check on the video card. I'm going to strip it down to the bare minimum and try it all again.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Lowercase Tea » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:14 am

Also, if it was in the case, check to make sure all the standoffs were screwed in correctly. That could be a likely spot for a short as well.
Lowercase Tea
 
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:37 pm

Postby Joker » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:23 am

I'm afraid this computer is CURSED
User avatar

Joker
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:48 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:24 am

There's some kind of sticky black liquid oozing out of the motherboard and when I power it on I hear ghostly laughter???
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:43 am

Oh shit I got signs of life. Not sure what exactly is different but I have a screen now that says "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby swamp angel » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:45 am

that sounds promising. do you have a windows on a usb stick you can boot from? i'd just do a fresh install on your m2 drive.
User avatar

swamp angel
 
Posts: 8784
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:10 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:54 am

I don't, it's been five years since I installed this and used a key from my buddy's work so I no longer have it available to me. But it's still progress.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby swamp angel » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:58 am

you can grab a bootable version of windows direct from microsoft and then just buy a cheap activation key from a reseller; you can run an unactivated version for a long time before it starts hassling you about it, too. i think even then it's just a watermark.
User avatar

swamp angel
 
Posts: 8784
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:10 pm

Postby an otter uh otter uh otter uh o » Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:19 pm

yeah OEM windows keys are basically free these days. even Retail ones are dirt cheap,

https://cheapdigitaldownload.com/window ... omparison/
ˁᵔᵜᵔˀ
User avatar

an otter uh otter uh otter uh o
 
Posts: 18482
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: tier 3 (canadian tier 4)

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:20 pm

Trying to install Windows now but I keep getting errors
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby Shotfrog » Mon Sep 27, 2021 1:43 pm

It did the initial part of the installation but then after booting I got a dialog box that says "The computer restarted unexpectedly or encountered an unexpected error. Windows installation cannot proceed. To install Windows, click 'OK' to restart the computer, and then restart the installation."

Tried the fix suggested here: https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/installing-windows.3589823/

Seem to have gotten just one step further now but it's been on a blue screen saying "Just a moment..." for quite some time.

Edit: crap, "ran into an error and needs to restart"
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

Postby shizaam » Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:13 pm

after reading reviews for a few weeks, finally decided on
Image
https://www.rtings.com/monitor/reviews/dell/s2721qs
mostly needed something for day to day work stuff, photo editing, and maybe some light gaming
User avatar

shizaam
 
Posts: 5856
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:28 pm

Postby Shotfrog » Tue Sep 28, 2021 8:47 am

Ok so I stripped everything down and was able to install Windows. Then I plugged everything back in and it wasn't working again. Disconnected the hard drive, didn't work. Disconnected the new video card... it worked with integrated graphics. Swapped in the OLD video card, and it worked. So presumably the new video card is also dead.

Still working but it also just seems to be running slow as shit and doing weird things such as shutting down when it's supposed to be restarted. I really fucked things up.
User avatar

Shotfrog
 
Posts: 17580
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Boston

PreviousNext

Return to The Hot Zone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Christmas Ape, creedence tapes, dragon jeans, Google [Bot], jubjub, Julius Sumner Miller, Kaputt, Marza, Melville, millar, pzadvance, rankoutsider, rex, sconies, smelts and 66 guests